Books and Culture Vol. 19 No. 6

8 The Cult of Sweeping Competence I Sarah Ruden
On suicide, smoking, and heroes of conscience.

9 His Kingdom Stretch from Shore to Shore I Mark Noll
HISTORY OF THE WORLD CHRISTIAN MOVEMENT, VOLUME II: MODERN CHRISTIANITY FROM 1454-1800 by Dale T. Irwin and Scott W. Sunquist
THE CHURCH IN THE LONG EIGHTEENTH CENTURY by David Hempton

11 Christ Our Center I Edward T. Oakes, SJ

14 Jesus as a Jewish Jihadist I Robert Gundry
ZEALOT: THE LIFE AND TIMES OF JESUS OF NAZARETH by Reza Aslan

16 Holy Power Source! I Tyler Wigg-Stevenson
PLAYING GOD: REDEEMING THE GIFT OF POWER by Andy Crouch

17 No Apologies I Alan Jacobs
UNAPOLOGETIC: WHY, DESPITE EVERYTHING, CHRISTIANITY CAN STILL MAKE SURPRISING EMOTIONAL SENSE by Francis Spufford

19 Jurassic Evangelicalism I David Neff
RECOVERING CLASSIC EVANGELICALISM: APPLYING THE WISDOM AND VISION OF CARL F. H. HENRY by Gregory Alan Thornbury

20 A Nice Place to Leave I Naomi Schaefer Riley
SMALL-TOWN AMERICA: FINDING COMMUNITY, SHAPING THE FUTURE by Robert Wuthnow

21 Are Christian Mothers Human? I Leslie Leyland Fields
CHRIST IN THE CHAOS: How THE GOSPEL CHANGES MOTHERHOOD by Kimm Crandall
DESPERATE: HOPE FOR THE MOM WHO NEEDS TO BREATHE by Sarah Mae and Sally Clarkson
FREEFALL TO FLY: A BREATHTAKING JOURNEY TOWARD A LIFE OF MEANING by Rebekah Lyons

24 Elected Representatives I Wesley Hill
RE-lMAGING ELECTION: DIVINE ELECTION AS REPRESENTING GOD TO OTHERS AND OTHERS TO GOD by Suzanne McDonald

26 America’s Most Consequential Battle I Collin Hansen
GETTYSBURG: THE LAST INVASION by Allen C. Guelzo

27 Oh Good Grief! I Sarah Hinlicky Wilson
THE COMPLETE PEANUTS by Charles M. Schulz

28 Everything Matters I Alissa Wilkinson
CLAIRE OF THE SEA LIGHT by Edwidge Danticat

29 Off-Kilter Everywhere I Susan VanZanten
AMERICANAH by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

30 Truth Is Stranger Than Fiction I Paul Baumann
SUITABLE ACCOMMODATIONS: AN AUTOBIOGRAPHICAL STORY OF FAMILY LIFE: THE LETTERS OF J. F. POWERS, 1942-1963 edited by Katherine A. Powers

31 “Strange Things with Meaning” I Brett Foster
PoEMS oF DEVOTION: AN ANTHOLOGY OF RECENT POETS
edited by Luke Hankins

34 The Work and Play of Mourning I Michael Robbins
TIME OF GRIEF: MOURNING POEMS edited by Jeffrey Yang

Play This Song I Jef Johnson
SONG READER by Beck

36 Escape from Oblivion I Ronald K. Rittgers
PAPER MEMORY: A SIXTEENTH-CENTURY TOWNSMAN WRITES HIS WORLD by Matthew Lundin

37 The Lantern-Bearers I Philip Jenkins
WALES AND THE BRITONS 350-1064 by T.M. Charles-Edwards

39 Why Intellectual History Matters I Craig Mattson and
Michael VanderWeele
A conversation with Susan Schreiner.

41 In the Forest with David Douglas I Paul J. Willis
THE CoLLECTOR: DAVID DOUGLAS AND THE NATURAL HISTORY OF THE NORTHWEST by Jack Nisbet
DAVID DOUGLAS: A NATURALIST AT WORK-AN ILLUSTRATED EXPLORATION ACROSS TWO CENTURIES IN THE PACIFIC NORTHWEST by Jack Nisbet

