B&C September/ October 2016

8              A Forgotten Case of Matricide I   LaVonneNeff

THE WICKED BOY: THE MYSTERY OF A VICTORIAN CHILD MURDERER

by Kate  Summerscale

9              The Last Magician I   Karl W. Giberson

THE NEWTON PAPERS: THE STRANGE AND TRUE ODYSSEY OF ISAAC NEWTON’S MANUSCRIPTS

by Sarah  Dry

 

11           The Dean  of Christian  Scholars  I      Interview by Todd c. Ream

A conversation  with Mark Noll.

 

14           A New  Perspective on Schism I      NaomiHaynes

CRITICAL CHRISTIANITY: TRANSLATION AND  DENOMINATIONAL CONFLICT IN PAPUA NEW GUINEA           by Courtney Handman

 

15           Racing  with  Chariots  I   Peter T. Chattaway

BIGGER THAN  BEN-HUR: THE BOOK, ITS  ADAPTATIONS, AND THEIR AUDIENCES edited

by Barbara Ryan and Milette Shamir

 

16           Presidential Timber I   CollinHansen

THE AMERICAN PRESIDENT: FROM TEDDY ROOSEVELT TO BILL CLINTON

by William E. Leuchtenburg

 

17           Out-Whigging the Whigs  I   AlisterChapman

THE ENGLISH AND THEIR HISTORY by Robert  Tombs

 

19           “Alibis  for Empire” I  MichaelLedger-Lomas

HEROIC FAILURE AND  THE  BRITISH by Stephanie Barczewski

 

20            Real Presence    Craig Mattson

On podcasting.

 

22           “Season  Was  a Always  Open  on Me”  I   CaraMeredith

ONE MISSISSIPPI, TWO MISSISSIPPI: METHODISTS, MURDER, AND THE STRUGGLE FOR  RACIAL JUSTICE IN  NESHOBA COUNTY by Carol V. R. George

 

23           “Freedom’s Car”  I   Sarah Ruden

REDEEMING THE  GREAT EMANCIPATOR by Allen  C. Guelzo

 

24           Talking  Heads  I      John H. McWhorter

THE LANGUAGE ANIMAL: THE  FULL SHAPE OF THE  HUMAN LINGUISTIC CAPACITY

by Charles  Taylor

 

25           Language in the  Wild  I   JoelHengHartse

LANGUAGE: THE CULTURAL TOOL by DanielL. Everett

THE LANGUAGE HOAX: WHY THE  WORLD LOOKS THE  SAME IN ANY LANGUAGE

by John McWhorter

 

27           Live and Let Live  I      Bryan McGraw

CONFIDENT PLURALISM: SURVIVING AND  THRIVING THROUGH DEEP DIFFERENCE

by John  D. Jnazu

 

28         Only  Connect  I    InterviewbyJaneZwart

A conversation with Zadie Smith.

 

30           The Artifice of Eternity I   ChristinaBieberLake

ZERO K by Don DeLillo

 

32          The Poet  in Old  Age  I    Alan Jacobs

THE COMPLETE WORKS OF W. H. AUDEN edited  by Edward  Mendelson

PROSE: VOLUME V, 1963-1968   PROSE: VOLUME VI, 1969-1973

 

33    The Upward Spiral I   Betty SmarttCarter

LAURUS by Eugene  Vodolazkin

 

34            A Long Patience I    Rachel Marie Stone

ELEVEN HOURS by Pamela  Erens

 

35           Haitian Realism I   Mark Walhout

PEACEKEEPING by Mischa Berlinski

 

36        Opposites Attract I   MarciRaeJohnson

ALL  THE  BIRDS IN THE  SKY  by Charlie Jane  Anders

 

37         God at Ground  Zero  I    Jessica Hooten Wilson

SILENCE AND  BEAUTY: HIDDEN FAITH BORN OF SUFFERING by Makoto Fujimura

